2023 Pro Bono Awards: Now Accepting Nominations

The Pro Bono Awards recognize attorneys who provide pro bono assistance to low-income and underserved members of our community to reduce barriers to justice and access to the legal system. Recipients are screened and selected by the Legal Aid Services of Oregon (LASO)/Oregon Law Center (OLC)/Multnomah Bar Association (MBA) Pro Bono Committee. 

To make a nomination or for additional details, please see the nomination form.

Award Categories

Legal Aid Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year
Presented to a lawyer (or lawyers) who has displayed an outstanding commitment to the delivery of critical pro bono services to low-income persons through LASO or OLC.

Michael E. Haglund Young Lawyer Award
Presented to a young lawyer (or lawyers) who, in the tradition of Michael Haglund, founder of the Volunteer Lawyers Project, has displayed a particular dedication to pro bono services. A “young lawyer” is a lawyer who is 36 years old or younger OR who has been an attorney licensed for six years or less.

Pro Bono Award of Merit
Presented to a lawyer (or lawyers or law firm) who has exhibited the highest standards of commitment to increasing access to justice within Oregon for those unable to afford legal assistance or those from communities underserved by the legal profession. 

The awards will be presented at the MBA Annual Meeting on May 24, 2023. 

View All Articles